Texas Judicial Candidate Profiles and Comparisons


Please Rotate Your Screen
90° to View in Landscape



Information is updated as candidate data becomes available. All information gathered from public sources and may not yet be approved by the candidate. Please send any corrections to info@tcjl.com.
*denotes Incumbent

2018 Judicial Candidate Profiles

SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS:  9 Justices, Statewide, Based in Austin

Place 2:  Steven Kirkland (D) v. Jimmy Blacklock* (R)

Place 4:  R.K. Sandill (D) v. John Devine* (R)

Place 6:  Kathy Cheng (D) v. Jeff Brown* (R)

TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS:  9 Justices, Statewide, Based in Austin

Presiding Judge:  Maria T. “Terri” Jackson (D) v. Sharon Keller* (R) v. Bill Strange III (L)

Place 7:  Ramona Franklin (D) v. Barbara Parker Hervey* (R)

Place 8 OPEN SEATMichelle Slaughter (R) v. Mark Ash (L)

1st Court of Appeals:  9 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Houston
Concurrent Jurisdiction with 14th Court

Place 2:  Gordon Goodman (D) v Jane Bland* (R)

Place 6:  Sarah Beth Landau (D) v. Harvey G. Brown* (R)

Place 7:  Julie Countiss (D) v. Terry Wayne Yates (R)

Place 8:  Richard Hightower (D) v. Michael C. Massengale* (R)

Place 9:  Peter Kelly (D) v. Jennifer V. Caughey* (R)

2nd Court of Appeals:  7 Justices, 12 Counties, Based in Fort Worth

Chief Justice:  Bonnie Sudderth* (R)

Place 4 OPEN SEAT: Wade Birdwell* (R)

Place 5:  Delonia A. Watson (D) v. Dabney Bassel (R)

Place 6:  Mark T. Pittman* (R)  

3rd Court of Appeals:  6 Justices, 24 Counties, Based in Austin

Place 2:  Edward Smith (D) v. Cindy Olson Bourland* (R)

Place 3:  Chari Kelly (D) v. Scott Field* (R)

Place 5:  Thomas J. Baker (D) v. David Puryear* (R)

Place 6:  Gisela Triana (D) v. Mike Toth* (R)

4th Court of Appeals:  7 Justices, 32 Counties, Based in San Antonio

Place 2:  Beth Watkins (D) v. Marialyn Barnard* (R)

Place 3:  Patricia O’Connell Alvarez* (D) v. Jason Pulliam (R)

Place 4:  Luz Elena D. Chapa* (D) v. Patrick Ballantyne (R)

Place 5 OPEN SEAT: Liza Rodriguez (D) v. Rebecca Simmons (R)

Place 7:  Rebeca A. Martinez* (D) v. Shane Stolarczyk (R)

5th Court of Appeals:  13 Justices, 6 Counties, Based in Dallas

Chief Justice OPEN SEAT:  Robert Burns (D) v. Douglas S. Lang (R)

Place 2:   Robbie Partida-Kipness (D) v. David Evans* (R)

Place 5:   Erin Nowell (D) v. Craig Stoddart* (R)

Place 9:   Bill Pedersen (D) v. Jason Boatright* (R)

Place 10:  Amanda Reichek (D) v. Molly Francis* (R)

Place 11 OPEN SEAT:  Cory Carlyle (D) v.  John G. Browning (R)

Place 12 OPEN SEATKen Molberg (D) v. Jim Pikl (R)

Place 13:  Leslie Lester Osborne (D) v. Elizabeth Lang-Miers* (R) 

6th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 19 Counties, Based in Texarkana

Place 2:  OPEN SEAT:  Scott Stevens (R)

7th Court of Appeals:  4 Justices, 32 Counties, Based in Amarillo

Place 2:   Judy Parker* (R)

Place 3:   Pat Pirtle* (R)

8th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 18 Counties, Based in El Paso

Place 2:  Yvonne Rodriguez* (D)

Place 3:  Gina M. Palafox* (D)

9th Court of Appeals:  4 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Beaumont

Place 3:   Leanne Johnson* (R)

Place 4:   Hollis Horton* (R) 

10th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 18 Counties, Based in Waco

Chief Justice:   Tom Gray* (R) 

11th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 28 Counties, Based in Eastland

Chief Justice:   John Bailey* (R)

Place 3:   (Pending Vacancy) Frank Stamey (R)

12th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 17 Counties, Based in Tyler

Place 3:  Greg Neeley* (R) 

13th Court of Appeals:  6 Justices, 20 Counties, Based in Corpus Christi & Edinburg

Chief Justice OPEN SEAT: Dori Contreras (D) v. Ernest “Ernie” Aliseda (R)

Place 2:   Nora Longoria* (D) v. Greg Perkes (R)

Place 4:   Rudy Delgado (D) v. Jaime Tijerina (R)

Place 5:   Gina M. Benavides* (D) v. Clarissa Silva (R)

14th Court of Appeals:  9 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Houston
Concurrent Jurisdiction with 1st Court

Place 3:   Jerry Zimmerer (D) v. Brett Busby* (R)

Place 4:   Charles Spain (D) v. Marc Brown* (R)

Place 5:   Frances Bourliot (D) v. Martha Hill Jamison* (R)

Place 6:   Meagan Hassan (D) v. Bill Boyce* (R)

Place 8:   Margaret “Meg” Poissant (D) v. John Donovan* (R)

2016 Judicial Candidate Profiles


November General Election Races (held November 8, 2016)


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This