2018 Judicial Candidate Profiles and Comparisons

This list will be separated into Primary and General Election Races at a later date.  The candidate filing deadline for the 2018 election cycle is in December, 2017.  Information is updated as candidate data becomes available.


SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS:  9 Justices, Statewide, Based in Austin
Place 2:  Steven Kirkland (D) v. Don Willett* (R), Jimmy Blacklock (R-Austin)
Place 4:  R.K. Sandill (D) v. John Devine* (R)
Place 6:  Kathy Cheng (D) v. Jeff Brown* (R)  

TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS:  9 Justices, Statewide, Based in Austin
Presiding Judge:  Maria T. “Terri” Jackson (D) v. Sharon Keller* (R), David L. Bridges (R)
Place 7:  Ramona Franklin (D) v. Barbara Hervey* (R), Donald H. Flanary (R)
Place 8 OPEN SEAT:  Alexander H. Kim (?), Jay Brandon (R), Dib Waldrip (R) (Elsa Alcala* (R) not seeking re-election)

1st Court of Appeals:  9 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Houston, Concurrent Jurisdiction with 14th Court
Place 2:  Gordon Goodman (D) v Jane Bland* (R)
Place 6:  Sarah Beth Landau (D) v. Harvey G. Brown* (R)
Place 7:  Julie Countiss (D), Terry Jennings* (D) v. Katy Boatman (R), Terry Wayne Yates (R)
Place 8:  Richard Hightower (D) v. Michael C. Massengale* (R)
Place 9:  Jennifer V. Caughey (R)*

2nd Court of Appeals:  7 Justices, 12 Counties, Based in Fort Worth
Chief Justice:  Bonnie Sudderth* (R) (appointed 10-5-17)
Place 4 OPEN SEAT:
Place 5:  Robbie Partida-Kipness (D) v. [Sue Walker* (R) not seeking re-election]
Place 6:  Mark T. Pittman* (R)  

3rd Court of Appeals:  6 Justices, 24 Counties, Based in Austin
Place 2:  Cindy Bourland* (R)
Place 3:  Scott Field* (R)
Place 5:  David Puryear* (R)
Place 6 OPEN SEAT:  Gisela Triana (D) v. Jennifer Freel (R), Donna Davidson (R),

4th Court of Appeals:  7 Justices, 32 Counties, Based in San Antonio
Place 2:  Beth Watkins (D) v. Marialyn Barnard* (R)
Place 3:  Patricia O. Alvarez* (D) v. Jason Pulliam (R)
Place 4:  Luz Elena D. Chapa* (D) v. Stephen P. Ballantyne (R)
Place 5 OPEN SEAT: Liza Rodriguez (D) v. Rebecca Simmons (R)  (Karen Angelini* (R) not seeking re-election)
Place 7:  Rebeca A. Martinez* (D) v. Shane Stolarczyk (R)

5th Court of Appeals:  13 Justices, 6 Counties, Based in Dallas
Chief Justice:  OPEN SEAT:  Doug Lang (R) [Carolyn Wright* (R) not seeking re-election]
Place 2:   Monique M. Ward (D) v. David Evans* (R)
Place 5:   Erin A. Nowell (D) v. Craig Stoddart* (R)
Place 9:   William N. Pederson (D) v. Jason E. Boatright* (R)
Place 10:  Molly Francis* (R)
Place 11 OPEN SEAT:  John G. Browning (R), Tom Nowak (R), Daniel Wyde (R) v. Cory Lee Carlyle (D)
Place 12 OPEN SEAT:  Jim Pikl (R), Perry J. Cockerell (R) v Randy Johnson (R) (Robert Fillmore* retiring)
Place 13:  Elizabeth Lang-Miers* (R) 

6th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 19 Counties, Based in Texarkana
Place 2:  OPEN SEAT:  Scott English Stevens (R)  (Bailey C. Moseley* (R) not seeking re-election)

7th Court of Appeals:  4 Justices, 32 Counties, Based in Amarillo
Place 2:   Judy C. Parker* (R) v. Bryan David Denham (R)
Place 3:   Patrick A. Pirtle* (R)

8th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 18 Counties, Based in El Paso
Place 2:  Yvonne T. Rodriguez* (D)
Place 3:  Gina M. Palafox* (D)

9th Court of Appeals:  4 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Beaumont
Place 3:   Leanne Johnson* (R)
Place 4:   Hollis Horton* (R) 

10th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 18 Counties, Based in Waco
Chief Justice:   Tom Gray* (R) 

11th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 28 Counties, Based in Eastland
Chief Justice:   John Bailey (R) (Jim Wright* not seeking re-election)

12th Court of Appeals:  3 Justices, 17 Counties, Based in Tyler
Place 3:  Greg Neeley* (R) 

13th Court of Appeals:  6 Justices, 20 Counties, Based in Corpus Christi and Edinburg
Chief Justice OPEN SEAT: Dori Contreras (D), Ray Thomas (D) v. Ernest “Ernie” Aliseda (R)
(Rogelio Valdez* (D) not seeking re-election)  
Place 2:   Nora Longoria* (D) v. Greg Perkes (R)
Place 4:   Nelda V. Rodriguez* (D), Rudy Delgado (D) v. Jaime Tijerina (R)
Place 5:   Gina M. Benavides* (D)

14th Court of Appeals:  9 Justices, 10 Counties, Based in Houston, Concurrent Jurisdiction with 1st Court
Place 3:   Gerald L. Zimmerer (D) v. Brett Busby* (R)
Place 4:   Charles A. Spain (D) v. Marc Brown* (R)
Place 5:   Frances Y. Bourliot (D) v. Martha Hill Jamison* (R)
Place 6:   Meagan E. Hassan (D) v. Bill Boyce* (R)
Place 8:   Michelle Barber Chimene (D), Margaret “Meg” Poissant (D) v. John Donovan* (R)

2016 Judicial Candidate Profiles and Comparisons

November General Election Races (November 8, 2016)

*Historical Information


Share This